sLIPpery slope

Happy Bike to Work Day!  This is my first year biking to work on this sacred day for bike commuters.  This holiday is getting more and more popular here in Indy; the plaza outside the City Market was packed with bikers this morning!

I hope everyone had a safe trip in!  (Uh, join us for cyclist happy hour like right now at Tomlinson Tap Room!)

Being fair-skinned, I’m constantly worrying about getting a sunburn, UV damage, blisters, and all those gross things when I’m biking.  I especially worry about my lips, which tend to get chapped and really really dry in the summer sun.  So I’ve been trying out some balms and such.

Dermalogica: Clean Start ‘smart mouth lip shine’. Image courtesy of http://cleanstart.dermalogica.com

Today I tried Dermalogica’s Clean Start “smart mouth lip shine”.  It promises to “shield, smooth, and shine”; everything I need.  Plus, the vanilla scent with a bit of zest – orange, maybe (?) is pretty alluring, too.  It’s a little bit gritty feeling going on (but others have said there is no such texture so what do i know? ), but it smooths out and definitely leaves a good amount of shine.   How and what does it shield? I’m not sure.  It is loaded with “Vitamin E, Cocoa Seed Butter, and Shea Butter”, which I was still feeling the effects of a good 3 hours after putting it on this morning.

But I feel better about having something with some blatant SPF in it.   Back to good ‘ol ChapStick for now on the bike!

xo

Leave a Reply

