I tried to make: Sweet Potato Fries

The image of these sweet potato fries on Pinterest (from The Art of Doing Stuff) has been tempting me for weeks, so I finally decided to try to make them this weekend! Sweet potatoes are a big favorite of mine, year-round. I much prefer sweet potato fries to regular fries when dining out at restaurants. So if I can make them at home, even better.

This recipe is very simple, I’ll give it that. And the fries came out of the oven looking perfectly crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. But that was not the reality. They were a nice texture on the inside – but a bit too soft; but my main complaint is that the outside of the fry was not crispy, and further, was really corn-starchy.

They look great, but don't taste so great...

So, how do I alter it? More oil, less corn starch? Fry instead of bake? I’d really really like to be able to add this to my cookbook, so any help is appreciated!

4 thoughts on “I tried to make: Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Hi there. Well, why wouldn’t you just ask me how to fix them? It being my recipe and all. I can tell just by looking at them that you definitely used too much cornstarch. More oil and making sure the fries are evenly coated with it will help. Once you get the hang of the method it’ll be perfect every time. If you’re looking for perfect immediately, just deep fry them. BUT you absolutely have to pre-soak the sweet potatoes and you still have to dust them with cornstarch the way I show in (tossing them around in an air filled plastic bag with a tablespoon or so of cornstarch). That’s it! Good luck. ~ karen

    1. Thanks K! I used only 1/2 the suggested amount of corn starch – I think next time I should definitely add more oil – maybe a higher oven temp?

  2. I make sweet potato fries by simply cutting the sweet potato, tossing it with a little olive oil, sugar, salt, and pepper (the sugar will caramelize, making them crispy)

    Bake at 450 for 25-30 minutes. You could probably up it to 500F if you want them extra crispy.

Leave a Reply

