Married Life: On the Run

Hubby & I, over our glorious 2-week honeymoon, decided that we needed a “project” to tackle together once we got back to normal life.

All my lady-friends have warned me that there are dangers of “post-nuptial depression”. It makes sense. All those months of dedicating the majority of my free time to imagining, thinking, creating — then second-guessing everything about one single day. What exactly is a bride supposed to do with her free time post-wedding?

I’ve never been one to have a lack of things to do, so I thankfully haven’t felt the slump yet; maybe this Running project has worked. The Mr. & I hit the ground running when we got back from California. We signed up for the Ripple Effect 4-mile run put on by the Broad Ripple Village Association. Then, almost every night, we ran. Well, jogged. Ok, he mainly ran, while I jogged, but really often walked. Hey, I tried! Running is completely new for me, so my goal was to just work up to being able to jog for at least a mile of the upcoming 4-mile jaunt.

Just a year ago, I had major surgery so I could do just this sort of activity. I’m disappointed it took me a whole year to finally commit to it, but better late than never. Before my breast reduction, running was NOT an option. So as I set out for my first run, I was shocked at how, well, *un-cumbersome* it was to just physically move my body in that fashion. Until it actually became quite painful because my lower body isn’t used to anything more rigorous than a pair of pumps and few flights of stairs. I realized I had a long way to go before I’d be able to complete 4 miles in the Ripple Effect.

Labor Day weekend finally came and Sunday evening we lined up – at the back of the line – outside of the Running Company in Broad Ripple with hundreds of other people.  Professionals.  People that eat short runs like this one for breakfast.  My goal was to run the complete first mile…and not finish last.

As we ran by BW3s, we were cheered on by a surprise gang of our friends — how embarrassing :).  But we trudged through, and I almost completed the first mile.  Stopping again to “power-walk” just before 65th St., my mind started to do the math.  The course took us 10 streets up to 75th, but my house was just 2 blocks away.  So very tempting to just peel away from the stream of runners and just WALK home!  But I kept going.  In the middle of mile 2, however, it became painfully difficult to keep up the pace – walking or jogging.  So many people were passing me.  I totally used all will in first mile and forgot to save any…

Thank God and BRVA for water stations…

Mile 3:  My knee hurt so much I was sure it was broken.  A broken knee.  Devoted husband kept me going.  This was a cake-walk for him, so I really appreciated him giving me some mental push.  He’s the whole reason I didn’t finish last.

In the last mile, as septua- and octogenarians began to pass me, I  focused on one lady in particular and vowed not to let her beat me.  So I ran, then walked, then ran, then walked, then moaned in pain, until I finally passed her.  The final 2 blocks of the race were in sight, and we jogged it in, finishing in 58-minutes.  That gives me a 14.5 minute mile.  The Summer of my Freshman year of high school I ran a 9-minute mile.  Mostly out of fear of being made fun of if I ever stopped.  Not this time though, not even fear would’ve given me a 9-minute mile.

Crossing the finish line gave me instant confidence.  And a to-do list.  I was glad I finished the race, and it inspired me to sign up for more runs.  I’d like to bring my next official pace time down to a 12-minute mile.  I’ll get that chance at the Drumstick Dash in November – and hopefully the Mr. will be my running partner again!

Leave a Reply

