I’m Married…Now What?!

If you stand close to me, you can still smell the California sunshine that I spent the two weeks after our wedding basking in.  I have that “Just Married” smell;  which is similar to the “new car” smell in theory, but much different in practice.

Does being married feel different?  Yes, it does.  I can’t explain it.  Nothing is physically different.  We live in the same small apartment (though getting rid of all the wedding decorations did free up some space!), drive the same cars, work the same jobs, and have the same day-to-day routine as before.  But something is different.  Maybe it’s metaphysical.  I think it’s entirely an effect of being able to take our honeymoon directly after the wedding.  A girl can be quite a crazy [person] in the months leading up to the wedding.  For me, this wedding involved so much planning, so many details, so much hands-on effort, that my love light was often out;  at times I removed the bulb completely just to be sure nothing could accidentally flip the switch.  This stress causes major push and pull within a relationship – a hyper magnification of who’s supporting whom and an occasional case of “what have you done for me lately?”.    Seeing my creative vision for the wedding merge flawlessly into the 3D reality of it allowed me to breathe a sigh of relief.  I was able to enjoy our day from start to finish.  The first bit of unsolicited advice that past brides always give you is to breathe and enjoy the day because it passes so quickly that before you know it, it’s gone.  I’m glad I listened.  I remember as much about that day as I think I possibly ever could.  I paid attention to little details.  I smiled sympathetically at those who tried to stress me out.  And I breathed.  I had more fun that day than I had in months.  But I needed time after that to reconnect with Ben.  The two weeks of living-it-up after the wedding was a rediscovery of how much we love each other.  It was full of conversations that weren’t about bills and schedules.  We laughed at ourselves, and gratuitously at each other.  And I came back to reality.  Not the “9-to-5” reality of adult life, but the “hand-in-hand” reality that I used to know more than a year ago that made Ben & I fall in love and decide to be together forever.

So now what?  Now, I’ll share some more details of the finishing touches of the wedding, to tie up some loose ends.  And, of course, I’ll share pictures and highlights from both the wedding and the honeymoon.  A special post will be dedicated to all those friends and vendors who made my day perfect.  And in the meantime, I’ll be struggling internally trying to decide whether to end this blog and start a new one, or continue it and let it naturally transform into a Newlywed discovery blog of sorts.  Without a wedding to plan, I’m anxious to dedicate my creative energy to a new project!  So, continue to read, and follow me as I try to decide what that project will be…

Leave a Reply

