Can I have this dance, for the rest of my life…

My whole life, I’ve heard songs on the radio and thought, “oooh, that would be PERFECT to dance to at my wedding!”  Now that the occasion has arrived, I’m having a hard time picking THE ONE song for Ben & I to dance to.

Ben’s a prog-rock fan, and I’m a country music fan.  He loves The Beatles and I love Van Morrison.  So, our tastes end up meeting in the middle with Steely Dan, Led Zeppelin, Talking Heads, Pinback, Steve Winwood (heck yeah!), and T.Rex.  Now how do we choose a romantic first-dance song from those bands??

I’ve suggested we come in on roller-skates to Steely Dan’s “Hey Nineteen”.  A firm “no-thank-you” from Ben.

So I’m sure we’ll end up with something in-the-middle.  Our first symbolic exorcise in the Big C: Compromise.  We’ll choose a standard, that we both like, and forgo the dance lessons.  We’ll let this be the ONE thing in the wedding that isn’t *over-the-top-and-outta-this-world*.  But, if you’ve got any creative, or normal, suggestions for a song, we’d be glad to hear it!

Leave a Reply

